A password will be e-mailed to you.

“My next several hours were spent learning how to play Tak. Even if I had not been nearly mad with idleness, I would have enjoyed it. Tak is the best sort of game: simple in its rules, complex in its strategy. Bredon beat me handily in all five games we played, but I am proud to say that he never beat me the same way twice.” – Kvothe

The Game

Taken straight out of Patrick Rothfuss’ novel, The Wise Man’s Fear, Tak is a unique two-player board game. The goal of the game is to make a road that connects two opposite sides of the board.

The players will take turns building their road, attacking their opponent and supporting their own stones (pieces).

A variety of board sizes is available for play: 3×3, 4×4, 5×5, 6×6, 7×7 and 8×8. Players will need to change the number of stones used during their game depending on the selected board.

Tak 5x5 Board

Tak 5×5 Board Game

How to Play

First Turn: Place one of your opponent’s stones on the board.

Continuing the Game: You will be placing stones on the board to build a connecting road from one side to another. There are three ways you can play a piece.

  • Flat Stone: A regular stone that lays flat. Players use these stones to build their road. You can also stack other pieces onto these stones.
  • Standing Stone: A normal stone set upright. Though they don’t count toward your road, these stones can act as a wall to block your opponent. You also cannot stack on these stones.
  • Capstone: These powerful stones that can count toward your road. Nothing can stack on them. Capstones can turn standing stones (including your opponent’s) to flat stones.

How to Win

  • Build a road out of flat stones that connect one end of the board to another end.
  • Both players build a road, but the player who causes the draw is the winner.
  • No one succeeds in building a road, but the player with the most spaces filled with flat stones is the winner.

Tak is available for purchase at The Tinker’s Pack for $55 USD. For more Tak-related items, you can look here.

The Novel

The Wise Man’s Fear is the second book in Patrick Rothfuss’ Kingkiller Chronicle. The Name of the Wind is the first in the series. The Slow Regard of Silent Things features the side story of Kvothe’s friend named Auri.

The third main story novel is currently in the works, but a release date is still unknown. If you’re looking for an addicting and magical series, I highly recommend the Kingkiller Chronicle.

Kingkiller Chronicle book covers

The Kingkiller Chronicle Series

No more articles